Fitness Plans You Can Stick to That Work

Lately a lot of people have been asking how I can maintain a healthy lifestyle while working, attending school, maintaining a social life, etc, and that’s one of the main reasons I started this blog!

It is hands down one of the most difficult things to do at this stage in life and trust me, I struggle DAILY, but it’s always worth it in the end. And, as I have mentioned prior, it IS possible and doesn’t have to be something you dread, either!

I recently just started this new 3-month program my friends told me about called the “Bikini Body Guide,” by popular social media fitness guru Kayla Itsines. It is a day-by-day breakdown of resistance training, cardio and stretching exercises that definitely kick your butt!

Each resistance training session is twenty-eight minutes with a two-minute cool down period, helping you save time and leaving you sweaty yet pumped for what the next day has to offer.

bbg

Now, when it comes to my eating habits that is the more difficult area of expertise. Especially going to school all day and then work the next, it’s hard to meal prep for that many times out of the house! What I have found works best for myself is having three solid meals throughout the day, and snacking twice; in between breakfast and lunch, then again between lunch and dinner!

The most important thing to remember is that you should not exceed the recommended calorie intake per day with the incorporation of these snacks (typically 2000 calories depending on how active you may or may not be).

An article on FitWatch states that when a person tries to starve themselves to lose weight they end up gaining more due to the fact that the body holds onto more of the fat content of your meals!

On any given day I always try to pack my meals and snacks with protein since it helps keep you fuller longer, and so here is what you can typically seeing me eating on most days:

-Breakfast: I like to either do banana wheat toast or oatmeal.

-Toast: wheat bread (Ezekial is my jam) topped with organic crunchy peanut             butter, sliced bananas and chia seeds.

-Oatmeal: Steel cut oats with 2 tablespoons of peanut butter mixed in topped with chia seeds, flax seeds, coconut shavings (BOMB), sliced banana and honey!

****I recommend the oatmeal if you have a little more time in the morning because it will keep you fuller longer and it supports weight loss and boosts heart health.

-Midday snack: I like to usually grab a Greek yogurt if I’m on the go but if I have a little extra time I always succumb to Trader Joe’s Black Bean and Quinoa Infused Tortilla chips with their Sriracha hummus (to DIE for).

-Lunch: My go to sandwich: Two slices of Ezekial bread topped with mustard, spinach, turkey, Swiss cheese and avocado (toast the bread first if you can, the crunch really adds an extra kick to it

-Mid-afternoon snack: Here I’ll usually opt for my veggie or fruit snacks, so I’ll snack on some carrots and hummus or an apple with peanut butter

-Dinner: My go-to staple for dinner is always my Stuffed Sweet Potatoes because they are so easy and I can use it as leftovers for the next day’s lunch too!

Now, all of these methods have taken years of trial and error, and everyone’s plans are ever changing, but if you try to make conscious decisions daily, you’ll see progress before you know it!

Leave a Reply

